Community Development And Services

Planning Commission Overview

The Planning Commission of the City of Henderson was created by ordinance on September 9, 1969.  The Commission consists of seven members, one appointed by each Councilperson and three appointed by the Mayor.  Their terms run with the Councilperson who appointed them; each time a Councilperson is elected or re-elected, a Commissioner is appointed/re-appointed.

There are also three ex-officio members who serve in an advisory capacity only and are not entitled to vote: a member of the City Council, the City Engineer, and City Attorney or their representative.

The Commission

Michael Campbell, Chairman
Jerry Mansfield, Vice-Chairman
Joe Belingheri, Commissioner
George Bochanis, Commissioner
Jocelyn Holzwarth, Commissioner
Bill Bokelmann, Commissioner
Jennifer Lewis, Commissioner

The Planning Commission holds regular monthly meetings, generally on the Thursday prior to the second regular City Council meeting. (See the Planning Commission Filing Schedule.)   Meetings are held in the City Council Chambers, 240 Water Street, at 6:00 p.m. and vary in length depending on the number of agenda items, the complexity of the applications, and the number of speakers during public hearings.

Access the Staff Review and Planning Commission meeting agendas and back-up for previous and upcoming meeting dates.

For additional information, please contact the Community Development and Services Department at (702) 267-1500 or