Mayor And Council

Fire Chief, Police Chief Take Helm

City Appoints New Fire Chief and Police Chief to Lead Public Safety Efforts

Fire Chief Shawn WhiteThe Henderson Fire Department and Police Department both have new chiefs to run their respective organizations, but their mission remains the same – protect our community and work with residents to make Henderson the safest city in the country.

Chief Shawn White was sworn-in as the 11th City of Henderson fire chief on Sept. 19.

“Shawn is an exceptional leader who is committed to continuing the Henderson Fire Department’s tradition of providing the best possible emergency response services to Henderson residents,” said City Manager Bob Murnane.

White began his career in the fire service in 1989 with the Albuquerque Fire Department, where he reached the rank of lieutenant. He joined the Henderson Fire Department in 1999 as a firefighter/paramedic and was promoted to captain and battalion chief before he was named deputy fire chief in 2014.

Police_Chief_WatsonAfter a national search, Deputy Chief LaTesha Watson of the Arlington, Texas Police Department was selected as Henderson’s new Police Chief. Her appointment was ratified by the Mayor and City Council at the Oct. 3 council meeting.

“LaTesha Watson brings proven leadership skills, extensive law enforcement experience and a vision for building on the success of the Henderson Police Department to the role of Police Chief. As the next leader of our police force, her number one job will be making sure Henderson remains one of the safest cities in America,” said Murnane. “We look forward to welcoming her to Henderson and to the innovative new ideas she will bring to the department from her more than two decades in the law enforcement field and strong academic background.”

Watson began her law enforcement career in 1994 with the Hutchins Police Department in Hutchins, Texas and worked for the Lewisville Police Department in Lewisville, Texas before joining the Arlington, Texas Police Department in 2002. She was named Deputy Chief in 2014, becoming the youngest individual to hold that position in the history of the Arlington Police Department.